A visionary thinker in the North American conservation community, Ted Smith was a passionate ambassador for the Yellowstone to Yukon vision. 

Ted Smith
Ted Smith

In 2014, Y2Y established the Ted Smith Award for Conservation Collaboration to commemorate his life and achievements, and his unwavering focus on working collectively toward shared goals. 

This award is granted to an individual or group that collaboratively and effectively contributes to long-term conservation in the Yellowstone to Yukon region. 

The inaugural award was announced in May 2014, at a ceremony in Missoula, Montana. 

Past Ted Smith Award recipients: 

  • 2022 – Cecily Costello (Montana Fish, Wildlife and Parks); Mark Haroldson (U.S. Geological Survey)
  • 2021 – West Moberly First Nation and Saulteau First Nation; Niitsítapi Water Protectors
  • 2018 – Jean Bjerke
  • 2017 – The Concerned Citizens of Canmore for protecting Wildlife Connectivity and Stoney Nakoda Nation 
  • 2016 – West Moberly First Nations and Prophet River First Nation 
  • 2015 – Nature Conservancy of Canada, Southern Alberta Land Trust Society and the Waterton Biosphere Reserve Association 
  • 2014 – Confederated Salish and Kootenai Tribes