Yukon's Wind River. Image: Peter Mather
Top actions | ... | ...

Sign Up For Email News Updates

Be the first to know about news, events and successes.

Where: By Region

The Yellowstone to Yukon region remains one of the last intact mountain ecosystems on Earth. At 502,000 square miles (1.3 million square km) it is equivalent in size to twice that of Texas or Alberta.

It spans five American states, two Canadian provinces, two Canadian territories, and the traditional territories of at least 31 Indigenous groups. It encompasses a wide diversity of ecosystems including alpine, forests, parkland, and grassland. 

This dynamic landscape is home to the full suite of wildlife that were present when Europeans first arrived to North America; and it is the source of 13 major rivers, all of which provide clean, safe drinking water for more than 15 million people. Y2Y’s goal is to keep it that way.

By Region 2


Yellowstone to Yukon Priority Areas

The Yellowstone to Yukon region is divided into 11 Priority Areas for conservation action. These areas are based on ground-breaking research on the continental status of grizzly bear populations and the connections between these populations. Each area functions either as a core habitat or as linkage zones that connect one core to another. Y2Y focuses its efforts on the areas that will help advance the Yellowstone to Yukon vision the most.

Click on any priority area below to learn more:

 1. Greater Mackenzie Mountains

 2. Upper Liard River

 3. Stikine-Nass-Skeena Headwaters

 4. Muskwa-Kechika Ecosystem

 5. Peace River Break

 6. Central Canadian Rocky Mountains

 7. Cabinet-Purcell Mountain Corridor

 8. Crown of the Continent

 9. Salmon-Selway-Bitterroot

 10. High Divide

 11. Greater Yellowstone Ecosystem