You are here: Home Our Work Priority Areas

Y2Y Priority Areas

Y2Y's Conservation Strategy is based on the conservation requirements of grizzly bears with a secondary focus on bird and fish conservation needs. Using the conservation needs of grizzly bears as an indicator of biodiversity, we have identified eight Priority Areas in the Y2Y region that function either as core wildlife habitat or as key corridors connecting those core areas (labeled as Priority Areas 1-8 on map below). 

Four additional Priority Areas are located in the northern reaches of the Y2Y region (labeled as Priority Areas 9-12 on map below); these were selected for their value as large, intact watersheds. Within these twelve Priority Areas, we are building and supporting collaborative initiatives amongst organizations, scientists, agencies, Aboriginal communities, land trusts, and progressive businesses to identify, resource, and implement on-the-ground actions to help achieve our conservation goals.

Priority Areas (12) Map New

Document Actions

Sign up!

Be the first to know about news, events and successes.

4 Star Charity